The Old Gray Homestead

I just finished reading The Old Gray Homestead. A book my father sent me to read. It’s an old book and I was sure that I wouldn’t like it, but I soon felt myself swept away into the story. It’s about a young rich woman from the city who comes to live with a farm family for quiet and solitude after her life is dealt the tragedy of losing her child and her husband to death. There is however more to her past than she first reveals. It is also a love story between the grief stricken you lady and the headstrong son of the family she comes to stay with. I found it dry in spots but not enough to make me think of stopping reading it. I would recommend this book to anyone as there is no bad language or graphic sex. My father made a good choice.

Leave a Reply

